From Meat to Plants

So here begins the newest chapter of my journey.  After binge watching documentaries on Netflix I have decided that if I don’t want to die from the inside out it is in my best interest to become a vegan.  My husband agreed that it was the best option and Sanchez, my oldest son, couldn’t wait to get started.


From there I checked out every book I could find at the library regarding the lifestyle and recipes and we began our transition; first week we switched out our breakfast, the second week we added lunch, the last week we added dinner.  This was in October and was surprisingly easy!  I didn’t crave meat at all, and this is coming from a family that has multiple meats at one meal.  What I did crave though was dairy.  I wanted cheese, eggs, yogurt, and all things creamy.  The hard part was figuring out what to cook for dinner every night.  Especially since my six-year-old is picky, my four-year-old is particular, and my husband decided that he did not want to be a vegan.

Add to the struggle that Thanksgiving was around the corner and we were headed out of town to spend it with my husband’s family.  Long story short Thanksgiving dinner was too hard to resist.  We came home and I attempted to get back on track, only to leave a few weeks later to spend the week in Houston with more of my husband’s family for Christmas.  This time I failed even more horribly. 


I comforted myself with the fact that the New Year was a great time for a fresh start.

Follow me as I navigate this new way of life.  Feel free to leave a tip or encouraging word.

Leave a Reply

